Imprimir Republish


Renewal in the academy

The Brazilian Academy of Science (ABC) has elected 22 new full members, who will be sworn in on May 5 in Rio de Janeiro. Among those chosen are four professors from the University of São Paulo (USP) and three from the Campinas State University (Unicamp). The professors from USP are Maria Aparecida Soares Ruas, from the Institute of Mathematical and Computing Science, Ivano Rolf Gutz, from the Institute of Chemistry, Reynaldo Luiz Victoria, from the Center of Nuclear Energy in Agriculture and Rui Curi, from the Institute of Biomedical Sciences. From Unicamp Carlos Alfredo Joly, from the institute of Biology, Yoshitaka Gushikem, from the Institute of Chemistry and Carlos Ourívio Escobar, from the Gleb Wataghin Institute of Physics were elected. The list also contains Brazilian researchers and teachers from the federal universities of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS), Amazonas (Ufam), Minas Gerais (UFMG), and Viçosa (UFV), from the Brazilian Agriculture & Livestock Research Company (Embrapa), from the National Laboratory of Scientific Computing (LNCC) and from theUniversity ofQueensland, inAustralia, and four foreign members.