Imprimir Republish


Brito Cruz and Fernando Menezes are appointed directors of FAPESP

Eduardo Cesar Menezes is the Foundation’s new administrative director and Brito Cruz (right) was reappointed to serve as scientific directorEduardo Cesar

In a decree published in the April 20, 2017 edition of the Official Gazette of the State of São Paulo [Diário Oficial do Estado de São Paulo], the state’s governor, Geraldo Alckmin, reappointed Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz to the position of FAPESP scientific director. In the same decree, Fernando Dias Menezes de Almeida was appointed to serve as the Foundation’s administrative director to replace Joaquim José de Camargo Engler. The appointments were made from three-name lists prepared by the FAPESP Board of Trustees. Physicist Brito Cruz is serving as scientific director for his fifth consecutive three-year term. He was first appointed to the position in 2005. Cruz did his undergraduate work in electronic engineering at the Technological Institute of Aeronautics (ITA) and has a PhD in physics from the Gleb Wataghin Physics Institute at the University of Campinas (Unicamp). He was president of FAPESP from 1996 to 2002 and president of Unicamp from 2002 to 2005. Cruz has been a member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences since the year 2000. Fernando Menezes has been a full professor in the Department of State Law at the University of São Paulo  (USP) School of Law and comptroller general of the university since March 2016. He was an advisor to the FAPESP Office of the President from 2007 to 2016 and assistant secretary of Economic Development, Science, Technology and Innovation of São Paulo State from 2004 to 2006.