Imprimir Republish


France honors Brazilian researchers

Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz, FAPESP’s scientific director, and another three Brazilian academics were awarded, on August 13, the Palme Académique, one of the most important decorations granted by the French government. Besides Brito Cruz, the professors honored were Adnei Melges de Andrada, from the Polytechnic School of the University of São Paulo (USP), Renée Zicman, from the Pontifical Catholic University of São Paulo (PUC-SP) and José 
Celso Freire Junior, from the School of Engineering of Guaratinguetá of Paulista State University (Unesp). The ceremony was conducted by France’s consul-general in São Paulo, Sylvain Itté, and was attended by the chairman of FAPESP, Celso Lafer. Created in 1808, the Palmes Académiques are bestowed upon people who have rendered relevant services to French education or contributed to the expansion of French culture. They are granted in the form of an order with three levels: Commandeur, Officier and Chevalier. Brito Cruz and Andrade were named Commandeur; Zicman, Officier; and Freire Junior, Chevalier. “The paths of the decorated academics bear witness to the strength of the cooperation between Brazil and France,” Itté stated. According to the consul, Brito Cruz has promoted internationalization throughout his career, especially when he was the president of the State University of Campinas (Unicamp), from 2002 to 2005, and as the scientific director of FAPESP. He has also fostered closer relations with France.