Imprimir Republish


Goldemberg named FAPESP president

José Goldemberg: topped the list of three candidates sent to the governor

LÉO RAMOSJosé Goldemberg: topped the list of three candidates sent to the governorLÉO RAMOS

Physicist José Goldemberg was appointed President of FAPESP by São Paulo State Governor Geraldo Alckmin on August 22, 2015. Goldemberg, 87, who is a professor at the University of São Paulo (USP), topped the list of three candidates identified by the Foundation’s Board of Trustees and sent to the governor on August 12. Also on the list were Board members José de Souza Martins and Eduardo Moacyr Krieger. Goldemberg is a specialist in nuclear physics and energy. He has served as president of the Brazilian Physics Society (1975-1979), the Brazilian Society for the Advancement of Science (1979-1981) and Companhia Energética de São Paulo, the São Paulo State electric power company (1983-1986). He is a past president of USP (1986-1989) and served the federal government between 1990 and 1992 as Secretary of the Environment, Secretary of Science and Technology, and Minister of Education. He was also Secretary of the Environment of the State of São Paulo (2003-2007). In 2008, the Asahi Glass Foundation of Japan awarded Goldemberg its Blue Planet Prize for “having made major contributions to the formulation and implementation of a variety of policies related to improvements in energy use and conservation.” Notable among these was his idea that poor countries need not repeat technological paradigms followed in the past by rich countries in order to develop. His work on the sustainability of Brazilian ethanol has also brought him recognition. In 2007, TIME Magazine included his name on its list of “Heroes of the Environment,” and in 2013 he received the Zayed Future Energy Prize in the United Arab Emirates. He is a recent recipient of the Conrad Wessel Foundation Award in the category of Science. Goldemberg succeeds Celso Lafer, who served as FAPESP’s president for eight years and whose term on the Foundation’s Board of Trustees ended on September 7.