Imprimir Republish

FAPESP Board of Trustees

Marco Antonio Zago is new FAPESP president

Léo Ramos Chaves FAPESP president Marco Antonio ZagoLéo Ramos Chaves

Marco Antonio Zago, a professor at the Ribeirão Preto Medical School at the University of São Paulo (FMRP-USP), took over as president of FAPESP on the morning of October 5. Zago was appointed to the post by state governor Márcio França in a decree signed on September 28 and published the following day in the Diário Oficial do Estado de São Paulo (Official São Paulo State gazette). The physician was one of three candidates put forward for the position at a meeting of the FAPESP Board of Trustees on September 3, with the governor responsible for the final decision on the new president of the Foundation. In addition to Zago, the list included physicist José Goldemberg and sociologist José de Souza Martins, both professors emeritus at USP. Goldemberg was the previous FAPESP president, occupying the position since 2015. The list of candidates was drawn up before his term ended on September 7. Zago graduated from FMRP in 1973, having obtained a master’s degree and a PhD before doing a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Oxford, UK. He was associate dean of research and later dean at USP (2014–2017). He chaired the Brazilian National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq) from 2007 to 2010 after having been a coordinator at the Ribeirão Preto Cell Therapy Center, one of the Research, Innovation, and Dissemination Centers (RIDCs) funded by FAPESP, as well as clinical director at the Ribeirão Preto University Hospital and a member of the National Biosafety Technical Commission (CTNBIO). Since April this year, he has been secretary of health for the state of São Paulo.